All to Jesus I Surrender

I can’t believe I haven’t posted in almost a year. Where does the time go?

Well, it’s on my heart today to share this simple message with whoever happens to come upon this page. When there’s darkness and sadness and you’re in need of something to hold on to, I’ve found nothing better than the creator Himself.

Sometimes we make things so difficult on ourselves by not trusting – at all or fully – God’s complete sovereignty. He’s given us the words in Matthew 11:28 to embrace “Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

We carry burdens that do not need to be our own. We carry with us everything – fear, disappointment, anger, mistrust, hate – both directed at ourselves and others – when God has said we don’t have to. He’s made us the offer to trade our heavy load for His light one. Matthew 11:29-30 say “Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

How counterproductive to keep struggling to carry a load that God has selflessly offered to carry for us. Why is it that we’re not trusting Him to live up to His word? What’s keeping us from doing so? Numbers 23:19 is clear that we can trust God to stay true to His promise to us. If He says something, He will hold true to it. “God is not human, that He should lie, not a human being, that He should change his mind. Does He speak and then not act? Does He promise and not fulfill?”

We didn’t have to ask God to take our troubles from us and carry them on His shoulders. This is something He offered. He doesn’t go back on words that He’s spoken.

If tonight you’re still struggling with worries unnecessarily, take some time to yourself and listen to the words of one of my favorite hymns – All to Jesus I Surrender. When you’re done with listening to the song, say this simple prayer to the Lord: Heavenly Father, I am tired of handling things on my own. I’m tired of worrying, being scared, feeling overwhelmed, etc… Lord please give me the strength and the wisdom to surrender all to You. Thank you for offering to take it all from me. God, I accept Your offer and freely surrender all at Your feet. Please God replace everything I’ve surrendered with joy and peace that surpass all understanding. Help me Lord to always trust You and to continue to surrender all. I pray this in the name of Jesus. Amen.”

Let God be God. Let Him be the ALMIGHTY. The King of Kings. The Lord of Lords. It’s His job. It’s what He does. Why not surrender all the very one who has control over ALL?

I pray you’re blessed by these words.


I Surrender All

All to Jesus, I surrender;
All to Him I freely give;
I will ever love and trust Him,
In His presence daily live.

Refrain

I surrender all, I surrender all,
All to Thee, my blessèd Savior,
I surrender all.

All to Jesus I surrender;
Humbly at His feet I bow,
Worldly pleasures all forsaken;
Take me, Jesus, take me now.

Refrain

All to Jesus, I surrender;
Make me, Savior, wholly Thine;
Let me feel the Holy Spirit,
Truly know that Thou art mine.

Refrain

All to Jesus, I surrender;
Lord, I give myself to Thee;
Fill me with Thy love and power;
Let Thy blessing fall on me.

Refrain

All to Jesus I surrender;
Now I feel the sacred flame.
O the joy of full salvation!
Glory, glory, to His Name!

Refrain

About mmderosier

Do Well, Do Good. Do Good, Do Well.
This entry was posted in Journey of Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All to Jesus I Surrender

  1. Pingback: Rest, Does It Equal Lazy?/ One Minute Devo by Julie |

  2. Pingback: Rest, Does It Equal Lazy?/ One Minute Devo by Julie |

  3. Pingback: Help, I’m out of control! « doyoumeanwhatiknow

Leave a Reply

